What happened to Saturday?

I was trying to make this a Saturday post but WordPress was doing maintenance.. so .. what’re you going to do..

But anyway , to catch ourselves up : we’ll start with a picture of the morning.

Yep – it’s the view from my balcony again and the theme colour is purple this morning.

Sunrise - Darwin hbrGot to love that view.

Ok – its Saturday and I sort of managed to sleep in.  To clarify that  : I woke up at 4, pootled around doing things for a while, and then went back to sleep at 6 until 8.30.

Which is on the whole not bad.

Once I was up and going I did the usual thing of collection from the Post Office (some fantastic yarns this week!!) before heading to the NT Mine Rescue Challenge where Mining Response teams were competing in a set of trials to test their skills.

This was one of the tests.

IT28G vs Car 

 

 Getting an IT28G off a car and rescuing the “people” trapped inside.

Interesting time chatting with the Safety reps from mining ventures across the Northern region, including Argyle Diamond Mines, Gove Mining, Macarthur River and ERA.

Also spoke with some of the suppliers : Chubb, Draeger and the Safety equipment providers.

For lunch, I went to one of the principal tourist “things-to-do” in Darwin, Parap Markets.

Parap Markets The food section at Parap

 

 

Great food and lots of shopping!

tiedyed baby romperLunch

I indulged in my favourite Pina Colada juice and crab claws…

 Juice Bar No, thats not me.

Then in the afternoon I went to the NT Knitters and Crocheters Group…

Crochet group 

 

 

We’re not the biggest bunch this week, usually theres another 8 people at least.

I’m standing on a bookcase thing in the corner to get this photo  – I was sitting in the bottom right corner, the purple bag (crocheted in Zhivago) on the chair is mine.

 

This is a picture of Toni (she’s a lovely Dutch lady) who was sitting next to me.

 Toni

who is making a Tunisian crochet rug for her grandchildren – she’s making the green field and then will embroider animals onto it.

 tunisian crochet

I worked on the Gown for two and a bit hours. The progress is now quite visible!!!

Christening Gown 2007

~ by SB&C on August 26, 2007.

4 Responses to “What happened to Saturday?”

  1. Hi one girl from another girl ( sorry I don’t know your name) stopping by to tell you how much I love your blog and think you should write professionally.

    Saying hi to you and your mom, from Canada eh? 🙂

  2. Well that came out wrong, makes it sound like your Mom is from Canada instead of me, but you get the idea :/

  3. Hey Barb, its Manda – you’ll see it on my crochetville posts!!

    Thanks for your comments!!! Please come back and if there’s anything you’d like to see in the Terriroty via the Blog – let me know!!

  4. Hi Manda, sorry about the name thing I am new there and it’s overwelming..very nice to meet you… I want to see you work on that dress with a glass of wine in one hand in your hook in the other… 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
