Raindrops on Roses and Whiskers on Kittens, Bright Copper Kettles and Warm Woollen Mittens, Brown Paper Packages (String Optional) dum di-di dum.

 

 Brown paper packages

Tell me how jaded a person you’d have to be, not to get excited by receiving this?

Yep, it’s as big and as wonderfully squooooshy as it looks!

And (this maybe a shock) its not yarn!!!

And I know what it is!!!

 

Welcome to Saturday, I’m back with Toothbrush One, and here is Sunrise from the front Balcony this morning.

 sunrise in Darwin

There were some other purchases in the post and I think these epitomise what I was trying to say about “GOOD” vs “BAD” yarns.

This is Good yarn… It’s a 50/50 Alpaca Acrylic blend which means its perfect for an afghan as it has that extra bit of  “hold togethernessness” and its divinely soft. Great colour too.

 Patons yarn

This is also Good yarn. It’s Heirloom 4 ply in 25g, 20 balls of Cream – for baby garments…. 

 

 Heirloom baby wool

I want to get a spoon and eat this yarn.

This is FANTASTIC yarn. Te Awa 12ply Mohair and matching colourway Merino.

Te Awa mohair

In the “Barrier Reef” colour mix. And am not having problems staying away from it….really I’m not.

MUST FINISH THE WIPS!!!!!

 

This is also GREAT YARN. Made in Yorkshire and I cant even begin to tell you how great it looks against the freshly polished table.

 Sunbeam Mohair 

I also have spray paint –Spray Paint and I’m not afraid to use it.

Confused about the change of pace?

 

 

 Ah – I finished my Angel (#10 Cebelia, 1mm hook) and she’s in the final stages of drying before her flight south this week.

Thread Crochet Angel 

This is the Angel!

 

Worked on The Gown a tiny bit this morning – the skirt is so delicate!

 Laceweight Christening Gown

I have had a few requests from Crochetville users, and a couple of emails here asking for the pattern for the Avatar afghan. I will fish out my notes and post it here this week.

So please check back soon!

~ by SB&C on September 1, 2007.

2 Responses to “Raindrops on Roses and Whiskers on Kittens, Bright Copper Kettles and Warm Woollen Mittens, Brown Paper Packages (String Optional) dum di-di dum.”

  1. Ok – for all the people who find my blog looking for the words to the song , here you go:

    Courtesy of M. Oscar Hammerstein II and Richard Rodgers

    Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens;
    Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens;
    Brown paper packages tied up with strings;
    These are a few of my favorite things.

    Cream-colored ponies and crisp apple strudels;
    Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles;
    Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings;
    These are a few of my favorite things.

    Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes;
    Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes;
    Silver-white winters that melt into springs;
    These are a few of my favorite things.

    When the dog bites,
    When the bee stings,
    When I’m feeling sad,
    I simply remember my favorite things,
    And then I don’t feel so bad.

  2. one of my all time favorite songs! (movie too!)

Leave a Reply

 
