Hunting the Horny-backed Toad

 Another day surrounded by the quintessential Australian Bush.             And Twerps.

And I have to say – at the end of the day when my size 3 Safety boots look like this:

 My muddy boots you know I have been working…

  To give you all more idea about life here at Toothbrush 3:

The nearest town is very small, but still a major tourist destination. The Newsagency doubles as the Post Office, the supermarket closes at 5 and the manager has her baby in a cot in the corner, the Travel shop is also the Video rental store. Kakadu Holiday Inn is a sprawling corrugated tin building in the shape of a large green Crocodile (go to Google Earth, you can see it!) there is *some* mobile coverage and *occasionally* you can get wireless internet… but if the wind changes direction, you lose connectivity.  The good news is the bakery, that does a good chocolate cake and also the most excellent homemade pies; is now considering doing takeaway pizzas but that’s a very new concept for out here so we can’t rush it.

The big problem I have out here is that I can only get on a internet-connected computer for five minutes at a time, so answering emails is a real trick! I do enjoy it – so if you see that I’ve posted in the blog, but havent answered an email.. I will get there I promise!!!

 I’m trying to decide whether this is far enough out to count as the Outback. I’m pretty sure it does. It’s wild and woolly if you get even a little way off the beaten track and you’ve got to figure anywhere donkeys can end up as road kill, is reasonably feral.

Speaking of road kill – I have to report a fatality.

This time, however it’s ok to be happy that he is dead.

A dead Toad

 This is a Cane Toad, and they are pests and nasty because goannas and crocodiles eat them and they are poisonous (the cane toads not the goannas. Crocodiles aren’t poisonous, they’re just hungry).  These toads were introduced to Australia when some bright spark thought that they would be good to keep down the beetles in the cane fields.

Yeah..

 Noooooo…..

The Cane toads discovered that there were *better* things to eat than beetles – most of the native bugs… and small lizards… and dog food. So the cane toads flourished… and are spreading throughout Australia. In Darwin, if you catch a cane toad and take it to one of the Cane Toad Jails, you receive a beer.

 No kidding.

Cane Toad hunts are huge – Quite normal, respectable people gather on Friday nights to hunt toads.

For the more devious people, however, there are a couple of caveats.

 Firstly – there’s a maximum of two toads per person. We encourage responsible drinking in the Territory.  Which is why a Territory Stubby is over a litre of beer, in a glass bottle. You wouldn’t want to run out.

Secondly – you have to present a WHOLE toad for exchange. You cannot turn up with a green amphibian arm and expect to receive a beer. It’s a large percentage of whole toad (dead or alive) that they want handed in. Bits missing because the dog got there first: ok; half the toad today and the other half on ice for tomorrow’s beer – Not.

The Twerp Factor was exercised last night. I have found part of the problem, it helps when you are still on site at 1930. If you were paying attention you’ll notice that I got up yesterday at 0400 and was still at work at 1930.

See – Sunset

 Sunset last night

 I was less than amused by excuses.

I found that that because the 30,000 litre Fuel pod had been changed out, there was no longer any lights around. Which meant it was pitch darkness. So they didn’t see that the black hose was still connected to the truck.

Ok.. however Mr Serviceman,  you are supposed to disconnect the hose BEFORE you remove your isolation padlock (holding the battery switch in the OFF position)so: that would be an official warning for you..

And for the Driver who can be a know-it-all type and sometimes a wont-be-told-type, who was too busy looking at something else – that’s an official warning for you as well. With a paragraph about not being such a twerp, when someone reminds you to put on your safety glasses.

I’m very protective of my Dump Trucks. See:

 Me and a truck this is one of the small ones – my head reaches over the axle.

The big ones – I come up to the middle.

The guy who got bitten by the bug… I made sympathetic noises and I’m still filling in fifteen pages of form. I cant mitigate the risk because I dont know what sort of bug. I cant say whether the next person will die because I dont know what sort of bug. Its … tough… and sort of funny.

Ha ha funny – not strange funny.  

And because I did get home eventually, and did crochet and did – as I’m rapidly getting used to with this blanket : finish off ANOTHER ball. I’m beginning to doubt Spotlight’s claim on the label: “168m’  I think not!!!

I can show you where we are at:  Peach baby blanket

To put on this last row took a little bit of figuring out. Trying to work back into the sides of stitches but avoiding having it “frill” out is one of those tricksy things that makes the difference between good and great crochet work. Anyway – I tried with the strand of yarn held along the edge trick, I tried three stitches.. I tried two and three alternating. I tried working in the chain space, I tried working into the stitches. In the end – I found that two dcs into each space worked perfectly –it’s a nice flat foundation row: 

Peachy baby blanket in the corner

Now for the border which hopefully won’t take more than 1¾ balls of merino.

Otherwise, it will be back at the Filet  for me: Filet 

Which, also, is coming along slowly.

Anyway – thats me done..

Certainly am wishing I had some vodka and tonics to get me on my feet again but Its not too bad for a Tuesday…. just have to go clean my boots 😛

Catch you soon!

~ by SB&C on October 16, 2007.

4 Responses to “Hunting the Horny-backed Toad”

  1. What a nice cheerful post to look forward to when my son is behind me having a hissy because he doesn’t want to go to school today. I feel about it like you do about the guy that got bit-tough noogies. I am happy to see there are no reports of incidents but I still don’t quite understand the fuel one since you have to step over the hose!

    Ah well. The blanket is gorgeous, as I have said before-I envy people that have the patience for bigger projects. I’ll stick with my toys and layettes. With the occasional slipper and shawl tossed in. 🙂

  2. […] came across this post – Hunting the Horny-backed Toad – and thought it was worth sharing. I hope you find it interesting too and take the time to read […]

  3. The blanket is lovely and I am looking forward to seeing how the filet piece turns out.

    I haven’t yet mastered the art of spacing stitches for a border so it doesn’t frill or go ruffled but I like ruffled so I don’t work too hard at it 🙂

    The Cane Toads haven’t made it down here yet but it’s only a matter of time…

    — Michelle

  4. Hi Shellie and Michelle
    – We should get an Aussie crochet blog going – but I dont know how to make buttons (yet).
    If there are any more Aussie crocheters who come through here – please let me know…

    I’m glad you both approve of the Blanket! Shellie – I love your toys!!! and Michelle your works, especially the shawls – the Sweet Pea is gorgeous!!

    Death to Cane Toads!

    M

Leave a Reply

 
