One Ring to Rule them all…

Good Morning, Welcome to Monday and I’ve having hobbit issues.

(“hobbits? Never heard of a hobbits before! Sounds like Orc Mischief to me!! Oooommm!”)

Not because I have furry feet (I don’t) or I’m small (which I am… “almost like children to your eyes”) but because it’s horribly early again and I’m working amongst the rocks and climbing up the side of cliffs. I took a shot similar to this about a month ago – now I’m 3metres higher up….

sunrise(Mum – don’t ask where I’m standing to take this picture – its better you don’t know. And yes, Everyone – I know I look like her. I look even more like her mother J )

This makes me, for some insane reason, want to do the “up up up they goes… and at the top is her……..All she gets to eats is Nasty Orcses.. and they don’t taste very nice, do they Precious?” bit.  And speculate about the smell of grass… lying naked in the Darkness and who can carry what. My Preciousssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss.

Sunrise was made more impressive because there is smoke rising to the south though I was told there is always smoke rising to the south (“There is always smoke rising from Isengard  these days”).

It’s also compounded by the fact that I’m driving back to Darwin shortly to change out cars (Green Car is at home again, probably sitting on the couch with his wheels up, watching Top Gear on SBS before pigging out on The Fast and The Furious and Driven. Drinking 50W straight from the can, which he knows is bad for him. Anthropomorphism is a wonderful thing.) Yes – so  I have to go there and back again. A Hobbit’s Tale.

That wonderful, 560km, round trip. Up in Silver car and back in White car.  And since that quote’s effectively brainwormed my head, I’m going to be trapped in hobbit mode all day. It’s bad enough that I have Sam’s closing speech:

Sam: It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo, the ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end, because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing, this shadow. Even darkness must pass. A new day will come. And when the sun shines, it’ll shine out the clearer. Those were the stories that stayed with you, that meant something, even if you were too small to understand why. But I think, Mr. Frodo, I do understand, I know now. Folk in those stories had lots of chances of turning back, only they didn’t. They kept going, because they were holding on to something.
Frodo: What are we holding onto, Sam?
Sam: That there’s some good in this world, Mr. Frodo, and it’s worth fighting for.

Etched permanently in my head. I keep hoping that the world can go back to good. So much bad has happened and I know that it will take more than a box of Elvish earth to make it all better.

 Maybe we’ll get taken out by a passing asteroid and go the way of the Dinosaurs.

Which have already invaded my morning.

My usual routine of getting up very early and turning on the tv was given a bit of a jolt. By Dinosaurs. The early morning entertainment today on the ABC was a Walking with Dinosaurs type show (don’t know the name precisely) and it covered the arrival of land mammals to Australia across the land bridges of Indonesia. What made me stop (halfway between pyjamas and dressing gown) was the little rat thing that SURFED in on a log (seriously! not kidding) hopped off the log and then did the “turn head on the side and flick ears” thing that every Aussie knows clears your ears of water after you’ve been swimming.

Oh dear.

But hey. It’s all good – I’ve had my Vegemite sandwich for the morning. B group vitamins, you know…..

vegemite sandwich

Things here at the Dam are actually ticking along – no sign of the Auditors (I’m close to making it a Pratchettesque Auditors. But I’m not sure everyone would get the joke.) . I’ve been out and looking (hence the struggling to Mordor bit) at the rocks and have survived the experience with nominally clean jeans.

the dam

And now having exercised my boots – Its time to show you…

blue gown  Looking very sultry in the blue

It’s been a fortnight or so since I worked on it but it feels like forever!  The 1mm hook is all spindly in my hands and the laceweight merino is like cobwebs after the 8ply DK of the Peach Baby Afghan. But it is looking like something a small person could be christened in!

christening gown

This week, the plan is to alternate between Gown and Filet. I managed to, very carefully, forget the pattern for the Angel’s wings so she is still unfinished. But, still high on the “To Do” list.

I am feeling quite virtuous however due to finishing TWO WIPs (count ‘em:  1 and a 2) in one weekend. Thank you everyone who has commented on it!!! 

 And only starting one thing… a woollen throw using a new stitch from Patricia Kooler’s Book  An Encyclopaedia of Crochet – its “Flying Squares” (No its NOT – I have a lousy memory and its WEDGES. Mmmm.. Wedges………..) and I’m using an order of brown/ beige/ chocolate, and a very faint thread of blue, wool and I have this feeling/hope that it may look like a parquet floor when it’s finished. Pictures to follow……

Speaking of starting things (and getting back to today’s title).. Shellie and Michelle especially.. I’ve noticed there’s no Australian Crocheters Webring or at least – I can’t find one. I have an idea for a button (I’ve just designed the banner for the NT Knitters’ & Crocheters’ Guild) so i was thinking of starting one. If you lovely ladies would like to join me in binding the Australian Crocheters together under  The One Ring???

Anyway – got to go … have a Quest to go on J

~ by SB&C on October 22, 2007.

5 Responses to “One Ring to Rule them all…”

  1. […] Safety Boots and Crochet added an interesting post today on One Ring to Rule them all…Here’s a small readingIt’s all good – I’ve had my Vegemite sandwich for the morning. B group vitamins, you know……. […]

  2. This post made me laugh! Another LOTR fan here. I love your photos, and yes, I think Orodruin is somewhere in the distance. Greetings from the other side of the world!

  3. I had an Australian friend one time, you can’t convince me that a food you have to “get used to” is ever going to taste good to me! lol I know why you guys eat it but its still yuck to me. :p

    I’m not Australian so I don’t know how much help I would be. lol I love the gown, one day I will brave one-I have a pattern!

    The views you show are gorgeous although you will never get my Dad to say so-he thinks New Zealand is perfect and everyone should live there.

    I am laughing about the hobbit comments and I have to say that one pic does looks rather Lord of the Rings!

    I hope you enjoyed your weekend!

  4. Thanks a lot, now I’ve got “the Hobbitses”.

    The Aussie crochet ring sounds like a good idea to me!

    I’ll have to look up that Flying Squares stitch, do you mean Donna Kooler’s Encyclopaedia or is there another “Kooler” floating about (or I might just be confused anyway)?

    Thank you for the comment on Sweet Pea, I do like it, I am just annoyed I made such a stupid mistake and carried it through the whole pattern!

    — Michelle

  5. the dress looks amazing!!

Leave a Reply

 
