Things I’m missing (and Happy Birthday to Kris!!!)

I didn’t forget!!!!

I really have been missing the chance to take those gorgeous (if I do say so myself) morning shots. So in order to make for it :  On the beach yesterday here at TB G

on the beach at TB G we have a sweeping cloud over the white shelly beaches. It occurred to me, standing on the beach, that I really as almost as far north as its’ possible to get in Australia.

And I also realised how much I’ve missed the smell of the sea.

That said – having spent my almost half my life in the uniform of a   Navy Officer, I’m not regretting my decision to leave the Navy…  I do however find it amusing that the most help and guidance I’ve ever received has been from the Career Transition cell, the people who help you get out of the Navy. I’m still chasing one more document so I can start organizing the packing up of the flat – TB 1. I’m hoping the Seedling Stash will arrive at TB C  very shortly. And Mother_Figure is under STRICT instructions to keep the Mogs AWAY from my YARN (and any other knitters/crocheters who may turn up with envious eyes- you have NO idea how hard it is to leave your stash unguarded).

 Having spent the past seven months in the mining and civil construction world and the next six months at least in the Engineering Construction environment of upgrading an Aluminium refinery I expect my life will continue to be amusing..

 

Like this morning – when I found myself wheedling a half-intoxicated Islander back into the Gatehouse so he could be breath tested. And I’ve now spent all day writing policy to have the next person who, when the breath tester appears – vaults the fence, SACKED.

 

The one thing I am missing is my huge Orange CATS. So I’m posting another Bad Safety Picture to remind us all of what can go wrong:

 

damaged cat dump truckThis is a CAT Dump truck – one of the Bigger models and the really shocking thing about this photo is that the cab – with the Rollover Protection System (like a coccoon for the driver) has been completely destroyed. As you would have to suspect,  so has been the driver. Who is probably in the category of “has been” generally.

 

I am also missing the chance to get stuck into my Crocheting as there’s a lot of the evening being spent settling into the township. I have discovered that there IS a Craft group that meets every Saturday (and they start back up again after Christmas) but the PK doily is still languishing in the popcorn row that we saw last time..

 

I am missing hear from you all – still not much word from Canadian Barb (*poke*) and I’m hoping Elaine sends me another pic of how her version of the avatar afghan is going.

 

Lots of hugs from me in the Safety Boots… working on a Saturday!

 

~ by SB&C on December 15, 2007.

7 Responses to “Things I’m missing (and Happy Birthday to Kris!!!)”

  1. I am here Manda..I am protesting until you tell me if you got the package lol..

    I haven’t heard anything yet, so I am thinking no news is good news and don’t want to call myself, in case it isn’t. I still have to find out what it is they found, good or bad..but I am thinking it’s okay..

    Hope you are settling in well, it’s freezing cold here and we’re expecting another 25 cm’s of snow..Santa may need skis this year.

    huggers,
    Canadian Barb eh?

    ~back to protesting~ xo

  2. hi manda!
    thank you! the third and probably the last person to wish me a happy birthday! its means alot to me!!!!!!!
    i have pictures of the girls in the first major snow fall to send to you but my computer is getting ready to be sent out for sevice and kassies computer – well its a pain in the you know what to download pictures to but i will do it soon! my lack of posting does not mean i have not been thinking of you – i have – daily!

    barb if it makes you feel any better – manda sent me a package well over two months ago and i still have not received it. 😦

    and now a silly question – what is a mog?
    i have lots of crocheting to do this week – well just a couple of things but still –
    off to basketball –
    love
    k

  3. hi manda!
    thank you! the third and probably the last person to wish me a happy birthday! its means alot to me!!!!!!!
    i have pictures of the girls in the first major snow fall to send to you but my computer is getting ready to be sent out for sevice and kassies computer – well its a pain in the you know what to download pictures to but i will do it soon! my lack of posting does not mean i have not been thinking of you – i have – daily!

    barb if it makes you feel any better – manda sent me a package well over two months ago and i still have not received it. 😦

    and now a silly question – what is a mog?
    i have lots of crocheting to do this week – well just a couple of things but still –
    off to basketball –
    love
    k

  4. Hi Kris and Happy Birthday, when I mailed it they said a week or two by air, a month or two by land, I am thinking they we’re walking it, and using a canoe for bodies of water. O.O

  5. ok manda
    i tried emailing you and it kicked back saying you were over quota – whats up with that? let me know when to try again, k?

  6. Hey Manda and Happy Birthday Kris! i will send you another picture of the afghan when I get back to it. I found a pattern for a santa doll and so I have been working on that latetly. Its mostly finished now, although I have to redo the eyes – it kinda looks like an evil santa right now – and he needs a mustache and beard.

    That’s a gorgeous sunrise! There is nothing quite like the smell of the oecan!

  7. How did that happen with the CAT??

Leave a Reply

 
