Conversations and CAUTION : Babies!

The big difference I’ve noticed about being here at TB G (other than the downright lousy Broadband and the lack of good photo opportunities) is the morale.

The workers (and I use that almost in a communist collective type term) here tend to be far more dissatisfied with *everything*. For the past few days, I’ve been treated to some fairly large serves of Whinge, with a side-order of bitch. Our Waiter for this evening recommends “The Misogynistic Attitudes from Hell” to drink and to follow: The Desert of the Day : Picture of Naked Chick in Gynaecological Pose on the Wall.

Officially, they don’t like being told what to do by a woman. In the same breath, however, I was told that I need to be out there (“out there” being not in my office trying to sort through the Gumph the Client keeps giving us)  and telling them what’s what. Oh yeah – and they can complain about the emissions from the refinery stacks (they’re burning diesel so its the same as working beside a roadway) but I’m not allowed to ask the smokers to sit at one end during an outdoors meeting. If I do, I’m being dictatorial and unrealistic.

Oh yes.. and removing the poster of the girl with the manicure (it’s not so much that she has a manicure, but where  & how the manicure was being demonstrated) was apparently further demonstration of why women don’t belong in industry. I would note that she has been replaced by Very White Blonde Chick Holding A White Towel artfully in front of her nakedness (one breast showing) but it’s actually quite classic a la World War II Bomber nose-cone Art-ish so when I was asked, I said I had no problems, but not to go blaming me if Eva the Fijian Cleaning Lady refuses to clean the Crib Room ever again. They’re having thoughts about this.

They have established now that I’m not sleeping with the Project Manager. That was demonstrated beautifully by the girl he is in fact shagging breaking up with her boyfriend… (Yes – this is the combination of someones mentioned previously. The popcorn is still ready to go in the microwave for when the other someones get back into town!) and her shouting on the phone, in the breezeway, whilst smoking…. Classy …. *roll eyes*

The Greeks, however, wave and smile at me as I come towards them. Despite M_F giving me a Greek phrasebook , I still don’t understand what they’re saying but their workareas actually now look “safe” as opposed to the “Avert your eyes” that we had going before. And the concreting is passing Quality Assurance, so what else can I ask for?  They at least make eye contact with me whereas some workers, with the same company name as I have on my shirt, duck and run.

There have been an increasing number of conversations I have had in the past few days that start with the worker saying “I heard a rumour you were in the Navy”.. hmmm.. hardly a rumour, guys but ok.  The conversation ALWAYS ends up with them asking me whether I did get involved with the Indons. Now – to clarify, that is not necessarily the word they use to describe the  nationality, and “involved” also implies a level of violence which clashes somewhat with crochet.

The reassuring element in all this has been the innocent question “Did you learn knots in the Navy?” Yes…

And then I can sit for a while with someone and tie knots. Usually a Monkey’s Fist. Though after three days of knot-tying, I’m beginning to suspect there’s a magical fairy who is going around at night splicing stray bits of rope….  either that or there’s a lot of  ancilliary rope work going on.

At TB 2 and TB 3, there was a certain level of “niceness” that just seems lacking here a little. I don’t think I’m homesick. Rocksick? perhaps!

But on the subject of  home,  M_F sent me through some photos yesterday that were taken at TB C. I’d like to demonstrate my maternal instinct (and ask you to guess which one I would like to smuggle home with me in the car ? ):

manda and jenny andAmanda Beau and Boromir The three babies all belong to Arcadia, and she’s willing to sell two of them.

Again – I’ll let you guess which two 🙂

Hint : If you are looking for a new Warmblood Dressage / Hack / Eventer, these two boys have older brothers and a yearling sister, all to die for! Breeding is TB/ Vivaldi/ Kilof McOhl and they are going to be excellent all rounders.

On the Crochet front, the rain helps progress! The Barbie Outfit has been finished in terms of Crochet but now needs the finishing touches. The Jacket  continues and our old friend The Gown also made an appearance whilst I considered buttonholes.

I did win the Spinning Wheel and all the other bits and bobs that Kris couldn’t identify. They are a Swift, carders and spindles. Very much looking forward to getting to play with it!

No mail has made it to me here at TBG, I know Canadian Barb put a package in the post to me MONTHS ago so I live in hope ….

Hugs to you all – and Kris – new package will be heading to you soon, hopefully this doesnt take anywhere NEAR as long!

And we havent heard from Shelly for a while? And Michelle?

Catch you soon…

~ by SB&C on January 13, 2008.

7 Responses to “Conversations and CAUTION : Babies!”

  1. well i was thinking those two beauties would make a nice kassie and mia until i read they were little boys. so that won’t do. good going on the spinner thingy! i am one step closer to getting my own homemade yarn! YUM! still on row two of the avatar – maybe someday in the near futer i can pick up a hook again. the last couple of days have not been fun!
    talk soon
    k
    hi m_f!

  2. Sorry, sorry, sorry! I am still alive, just busy with crocheting. I have a friend due the end of February and another that has a month old baby girl. The set Mom and I made for the newborn is HUGE because she’s so tiny. I promised her an outfit that fits and that means non-stop crocheting since something that fits NOW won’t fit for long! Anyway, more later, to tide you over here are the links of the stuff I have been working on.

    Mom made this set-first baby boy set we have made in years!

    Friend that is due in Feb has a teen stepson, I always make something for siblings and I actually created this one on my own.

    Twin baby girls-mostly created on my own-I am getting good at this!

    The set for my friend’s newborn that swims on her-Mom made the dress, sweater and blanket; I made the booties, bonnet and 26 teeny tiny flowers with 2 strands of embroidery floss and a number 10 steel hook

    Christmas present to a friend-totally my own design! Baby bumblebee and I actually posted the pattern!

    Enjoy! I think there are some I missed but you only so much time anyway. lol

  3. Sorry, sorry, sorry! I am still alive, just busy with crocheting. I have a friend due the end of February and another that has a month old baby girl. The set Mom and I made for the newborn is HUGE because she’s so tiny. I promised her an outfit that fits and that means non-stop crocheting since something that fits NOW won’t fit for long! Anyway, more later, to tide you over here are the links of the stuff I have been working on.

    Mom made this set-first baby boy set we have made in years!

    Friend that is due in Feb has a teen stepson, I always make something for siblings and I actually created this one on my own.

    Twin baby girls-mostly created on my own-I am getting good at this!

    The set for my friend’s newborn that swims on her-Mom made the dress, sweater and blanket; I made the booties, bonnet and 26 teeny tiny flowers with 2 strands of embroidery floss and a number 10 steel hook

    Christmas present to a friend-totally my own design! Baby bumblebee and I actually posted the pattern!

    Newborn set I designed, needs a bigger top. UGH

    Enjoy! I think there are some I missed but you only have so much time anyway. lol

  4. Hi Kris
    Hi Man
    Ni bastardii carborundum (Latin, not
    Greek, but then the Greeks don’t need it!). Someone’s gotta bring a bit of civilization to the top end – looks like it’s going to be you.

    And it’s not a big jump from knot tying to crocheting really – you’ll have a hook in their hands before they know it!

    Can i vote on which baby I’d like to bring home… 🙂
    me

  5. Seems workers were very used to and now still chanelling previous Safety Officer’s attitude? My goodness, don’t they realize they’ve got a unique human being in their midst: a funny, compassionate, crochet artist, equestrian, navy survivor, global thinker, deeply educated, sunrise photographing Safety Officer. You are a world-class resource…ah well, keep your eyes on the prize and on your crochet. I love the sight of that BIG box of yarn…I finished/blocked a baby sweater and now starting on first socks (yikes). I think I’ll like socks…small, fast, and something different to do every little bit.

  6. Hey – Time to comment today!
    Kris – they would be a Gorgeous Kassie and Mia, but they are actually Draco and Dumbledore. The little one is certainly my pick…. He just wouldnt fit into the car.

    And yes – home grown and home spun yarn is making progress!

    Shellie is back !!!! With lots of piccies!!!!

    M_F : Yes- you can vote. I’m pretty sure Arcadia would let you take her home as well!

    Barbara makes me blush. But the yarn is well worth it!

  7. […] Get more information about this from the author here […]

Leave a Reply

 
