Pause for a moment…

Dying young is tragic, dying without dignity is so much worse.

Last night, a long term friend of the family, the sort of friends who are accorded the status of aunts and uncles, without requiring a blood-relative qualification; succumbed to cancer.

She had been in a twilight state for a long time, though small indications that she had some awareness of visitors.  I hadn’t seen Mrs Richards for three years, at a wedding (of the family friend M-F is going to make the ABC blanket for….) , but the patient in the bed in the corner of the living room we visited Christmas day, was purely her trying to step out of this life.  Not the Mrs Richards who used to say “Amanda” in that semi-exasperated tone of voice.

To determine her level of consciousness – she refused to eat in the last few days and this was respected by her family who elected to keep her comfortable.  

Her eldest daughter is a month away from having her second child. I’ve got some Feathersoft Bri-nylon baby yarn I brought with me “just in case”I thought of something to do with it. I’m pretty sure I packed a layette pattern.  

I had hoped that this year would be one where there would be fewer moments to light a candle and rant :

Gratias tibi ago, domine. Haec credam a deo pio?

A deo iusto, a deo scito?

 Cruciatus in crucem, Tuus in terra servus, nuntius fui. Officium perfeci  Cruciatus in crucem, Eas in crucem!”

And her family have even more right to feel that way, I just think it’s time for things to swing back to good, the joke isn’t so funny anymore.

So that’s it for me for today – I’ve finished Barbie and a miniature version of the Avatar Afghan. Will show you tomorrow.

A special hug for you all today….

~ by SB&C on January 16, 2008.

4 Responses to “Pause for a moment…”

  1. Hi Manda — sorry to hear about the loss of your friend. I have (unfortunately) first hand experience of seeing cancer doing its dirty work. But it sounds like your old friend fought hard and maintained her spirits to the very end.

    Love
    M.

  2. hi manda
    sorry to hear about the loss of mrs. richards!
    kris

  3. I am deeply sorry for your loss.

  4. My heart has sorrow that a vigorous good person is gone from your life.

Leave a Reply

 
