Felt… whose idea was this anyway?

I have spent a large part of this evening felting the bag.

My hands hurt.

There is a huge amount of blue water on the floor in my little ensuite.

Interesting point to note. The beige top bit felted better than the navy blue bottom.

The blue bit still shows stitch definition so I am going to keep doing the hot water/soap and millball treatment tomorrow.

To distract me from the stripghan – I have started another version of Alyssa’s Shawl – in blues and purples and greens mohair from my stash here at TB G. Its Heirloom’s Monique and I have 8 balls.

In other news – I did remember Mother’s Day – in fact my sister Bob and I have been colluding for the past few weeks and she went shopping for me and purchased Mother_figure something she had an expressed an interest in previously : a digital photo frame for her desk!

She has asked for pictures of her mogs so I have a task when I get home!

Happy Mothers Day – to my mother and to all of you!!

Hugs to you all!

~ by SB&C on May 11, 2008.

One Response to “Felt… whose idea was this anyway?”

  1. The only thing you can be sure about with felting is that you can’t predict what is going to happen. Some brands of yarn felt better than others, and even some colors felt more than others. Also, some stitches go away and others don’t, often depending on how tight the stitches are. (i.e., you might be stuck with being able to still see the stitches on the blue part of the bag.)

    I made a purse that came out as a super wide but short rectangle. It was not my intent to have something so assymetrical, but it was certainly unique. Since you are doing it by hand, I take it you don’t have access to a washing machine? That is, of course, the easy way to do it! I haven’t tried felting by hand, except for a few little balls that I made with scrap yarn by rolling them around in my hands with soap and warm water. I plan to make into beads. Can’t wait to see pics of the bag!

Leave a Reply

 
