Ripples

I am glad to know that people appreciate my photos – I can’t tell you how much I enjoy getting out with my camera and snapping some of the scenes around me.  It occured to me that the Safety Boots side has been getting somewhat grimmer (though there is a little more light, and less ominous to boot at the end of the tunnel) and the crochet side, even though it has been going on in the background has been taking a back stage role to the photos.

The good news is that I have taken two days off (at least I hope I can!) and whilst they might not be an exciting two days ahead, I plan to indulge myself in crocheting.

I have been comparing my taste in crocheting to that of my eye in photography and I have noticed a couple of similarities.

Texture.

Crochet :I adore Mohair. I cannot abide Acrylic. Silk blends, tencel and alpaca are all adorable.

Photography : I like getting the textures of clouds, the steel and the rocks of my environment.

Colour.

P: I like the colours of a landscape or peoples faces. Colours that are present in nature.

C:  I like the “inherent” colours in yarns but I have problems putting too many colours together in a pattern.

That said – my latest project (in Tencel) is my very first attempt at a Round Ripple Afghan. I’m working it in three colours of tencel blends yarns (Moda Vera’s Jaclyn for the antique white – great colour and Paton’s Zhivago for the blues) tencel – it’s worth working with!!  Arcadia’s hatchling’s stripghan is still going but I just needed to get a Round Ripple out of my system.

I am amazed at how fast it’s come together – that’s 2 hours work.  And I also have that lovely feeling of have used 5 balls of yarn in one night. I finished 2 balls of mohair on the mohair version of Alyssa’s shawl. Another 4 have gone into the RR with a bit of scrap left over so I’m calling it 3.

My next RR is for someone who may read this blog so I’m not going to show it until it’s been received.

Otherwise, I am now going to return to my lovely wooden carved hook, and the delightful tencel blend Jaclyn and then head off to dozy land. Will talk at greater length tomorrow!

Hugs to you all!

~ by SB&C on May 13, 2008.

3 Responses to “Ripples”

  1. Mmmm…mmmm…The Round Robin is delightful and that looks like a hefty tome to the right!! I did love the light in Beyond Thunderdome – it seemed to fill the space and hover, a sense of suspension. Have a lovely two days of your own.

  2. 2 days indulging in crochet sounds quite exciting to me! You’re pictures are beautiful and often end up as my desktop background! I love ’em! It’s funny that you mention you are working on the round ripple. I looked through Crochetville’s Round Ripple CAL thread this morning and really thought about starting one. I think I am going to wait for a bit, but I will make one some day! Your’s is coming along quite nicely!!! Hugs!

  3. 2 days off?? whats up with that? and you don’t get to go home – bummer! i hope things are looking up! maybe an email during this time off – or wishfull thinking!
    love ya!
    k

Leave a Reply

 
