There’s a reason we call it “The Bush Capital”

Canberra is the capital of Australia (hence the title “Australian Capital Territory”) and two things are known about it by all Australians. Firstly, there’s lots of roundabouts (and there is always a story about someone getting lost on a roundabout) and secondly, it’s full of politicians.

 

Yes.. yes it is.

Something else about Canberra though. We’ve been in drought for about 8 years now. The surrounding landscape is fairly yellow and grey and it’s winter so there is very little feed on the ground. Kangaroos therefore move further into the built-up areas to graze.

 

Mother _figure and I went out to a Garden nursery so she could buy a tree (and officially, she is no longer allowed to make remarks about “enough yarn” !!) and she spotted in the trees a small group of Eastern Grey Kangaroos.

I went on a stalk with Little Camera (Big Camera sitting at home with batteries on charge)

 

 

I really like the way this photo captures how cold it was!!!

But i was within five metres of them and really wishing I had Jorge with me.

And to keep meine schwester happy – I did take Jorge into the garden to follow the Smaller Orange Cat around

She’s upset as there have been kangaroos in the backgarden (the piles of roo-poo are a give-away!) and she’s after them Giant Mousies!

On the crochet front, the bears are continuing… I’ve been unpacking the yarn in from Gove (courtesy of Australia Post) and Lord Almighty!!! If anyone would like four balls of a tussah silk in sky blue and pale pink – I’m considering listing it on eBay…. Actually.. Not a bad idea. I may do a bit of a “for sale” soon!

Anyway – that’s it for me – time to work on bears. Hugs to you all!

~ by SB&C on June 1, 2008.

2 Responses to “There’s a reason we call it “The Bush Capital””

  1. I recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog.

    Tim Ramsey

  2. Great pics! I love the color of the trees in the second picture – there’s no doubt its cold there!! Thats a great picture of the cat too!! Cute! Roo-poo – hahahahaha that cracks me up!

    Take care!

Leave a Reply

 
